AREA DEL PARCO DI PORTOFINO
The Camogli Passenger Maritime Transport Service was founded in 1932. This activity was initially started by the Biancotti fishermen brother with their small boat called Luigi. The service is carried out on bank holidays upon request. Service continued throughout the war period and, after the bombing of Recco and the interruption of the railway service, it expanded allowing access to Nervi via the sea. Over the ’50s and ’60s the notoriety of Portofino – known throughout the world for its popularity amongst actors and celebrities – was initially limited but gradually grew over the small village of San Fruttuoso, leading to the precursors of this seafaring activities to reunite in small groups to increase the number of their boats and strengthen the services to Camogli.
In parallel with the growth in tourism, there was also a project to develop and renew the boats and the services on offer; in 1983 the Golfo Paradiso Snc. was founded to incorporate the existing companies. Today the company boasts ten boats ranging from nine to 27 metres in length and a capacity for a minimum of 42 to a maximum of 350 passengers; they operate all year long from Genoa to Portovenere, with daily tours and scheduled crossings.